Skip to product information
1 of 1

Emahoy Tsegue Mariam Guebru · Jerusalem

Emahoy Tsegue Mariam Guebru · Jerusalem

Regular price €26,00
Regular price Sale price €26,00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

SKU:Catalogue number: MRP-200

Label: Mississippi Records / Genre: Ambient · Contemporain · Drone, Ethio Jazz

1. Famine Disaster 1974
2. The Home of Beethoven
3. Jerusalem
4. Aurora
5. Quand La Mer Furieuse
6. Have You Seen Assayehegn?
7. Movement From Rainbow Sonata
8. Woigaye, Don’t Cry Anymore
9. Farewell Eve
10. The Pilgrim Song

Emahoy Tsege Mariam Gebru is a true original – an Ethiopian nun whose recordings have funded orphanages back home since the early ’60s. Her compositions and unique playing style live somewhere between Erik Satie, Debussy, liturgical music of the Coptic Ethiopian Church, and Ethiopian traditional music. It is some of the most moving piano music you will ever hear.
This is the first archival release of the great composer’s recordings since the Éthiopiques series reintroduced her music to the world in 2006. Drawn from original master tapes and a nearly impossible-to-find vinyl release, Jerusalem unveils profound new facets of Emahoy Gebru’s performance and compositions.

More from Emahoy Tsege Mariam Gebru

View full details